Yellow Green Blue

Project 52: Week 9
Yellow Green Blue

Well, I have managed to get my photo in right at the start of the week. For a while my dad has wanted to take a photo of a field of oil seed rape. He persuaded me to come along for a drive to find a local field. We drove past a few which looked promising but there was nowhere to park. Eventually we drove past this field where there was a layby. This is actually Oxfordshire not Berkshire.

I used a Nikon D3100 to take this photo. My dad used a much more expensive Canon 7D for his photos. You can look at his here: http://www.flickriver.com/photos/kiedyszko/. I don’t think they are any better than mine!

This was really an easy photo to take. The colourful scene did all the hard work for me. All I did to edit the photo was to slightly play with the colour and contrast sliders in Elements to get the colour balance as I liked it. The only new thing I used was a polarizer. My dad showed me how this works. While you turn the barrel of the filter you can see the clouds pop out of the sky. It is such an easy-to-use bit of equipment but made such a difference to the sky. The only thing that could have been better was for there to have been an interesting tree or two to add more focus to the photo.

Anyway, I hope you like this colourful landscape. As I have posted this week’s photo so early I may swap it for a better one later this week – but I may struggle to get a more colourful shot.

Leave a Reply

