Not a Snowman…

Project 52: Week 46

Not a Snowman...

Since it is coming to the end of the Project 52 competition I decided to try something new. I had previously seen photos where a face has been transformed by making it look as if it was made of plants and other stuff like this. So I searched for YouTube videos to find out how to create this effect. This is the video that I used: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LT_lTKxP9ck&feature=youtu.be

I watched the video on the iPad while working on the computer editing my photo. The instructions weren’t too difficult to follow but I did have to experiment a bit to make the effect work for my photo. You can look at the video yourself to find out what to do. I will say that I needed a portrait and another photo which would replace the texture of the face. For this second bit I photographed a wall and some ivy growing on our wall at the bottom of the garden as I wasn’t sure what would work the best. In the end I didn’t even use the ivy. I liked the effect with the bricks plus it took so long I had no more energy to try the ivy.

At first I thought that I would use a self-portrait but that was difficult to do. So I asked my dad [again] if he would agree. He did. Plus he had more skin area on his head… to make the effect stand out more.

I had no ideas for a title so I decided to call it “Not a Snowman”. I suppose I could have called it Brickman. Anyway, I think it’s quite a fun title so I chose it.

This week’s photo(s) was taken using a Nikon D200.

Leave a Reply

